Sargam Lesson 3

Exercise 1 (Raga Bilawal Sargam)

Now we will practice raga bilawal sargam. There is only komal ‘Ma’ in raga bilawal sargam and other notes are tiver. Raga Bilawal is derived from Bilawal Thaat. It is a morning Raga, and uses all the seven notes in the ascending and descending order. All notes are shudh (full). The derivative ragas out of this structure are grouped under the broad head of Bilawal Thaat.

Sargam Bilawal:  S, R, G, m, P, D, N, S’

We will complete this sargam in six stages as we did in Bhairav. In raga bilawal we will practice initial four stages in 15 minutes each.

First Stage: Bilawal Arohi – S, R, G, m,    (fingers 2,3,1,2) 

We will begin our riaz from first four notes of raga bilawal in ascending order. We will stay on each note for five seconds by synchronizing our voice with the corresponding notes.

Third Stage: Amrohi – S’, N, D, P,   (fingers 2,1,4,3)  

On reaching third octave at note S’, we will practice S’, N, D, P, in descending order by synchronizing our voice with the notes.

Fourth Stage: – S’, N, D, P, m, G, R, S  (fingers 2,1,4,3,2,1,3,2)

Now we will add four more notes m, G, R, S in our amrohi practice. Our repeated practices for complete arohi will not be less than 10 minutes.

Fifth Stage: (Bilawal Arohi and Amrohi) 

Now we will practice complete arohi and amrohi of raga bilawal. Practice arohi in ascending order and then amrohi in descending order.  Our repeated practice for complete arohi and amrohi will last for three days

Arohi: S, R, G, m, P, D, N, S’
Amrohi: S’, N, D, P, m, G, R, S

Sixth Stage: ‘P, ‘D, ‘N, S, R, G, m, P, D, N, S’, R’, G’, m’, P’

Each session must be fifteen minutes and will last till three days. We will practice from ‘Pa’ of mandr saptak to ‘Pa’ of taar saptak and then back in descending order. These sessions should be continued for three days.

Thaat Bilawal – Learn how to play Thaat Bilawal Raga Bilawal